Joseph Jaworski
Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award 2019

An annual award recognising the next generation’s endeavours in shaping the future. Awards open later this year.

Scroll Down


Announcing the 2019 Awards

Following the success of the 2018 Awards SOIF are very excited to announce the return of the Joseph Jaworski Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award..

Last year we received over 75 applications from 37 different nationalities, from Azerbaijan to Zambia. This year we are hoping to reach out to even more next generation practitioners.

In addition to our Main Award of USD 25000 we will soon be announcing details of our 2019 Special Awards with exciting news on additional funded awards.

We'll also soon be anouncing details of our webinar programme, designed to help you make the most of your application.


2018 Winners

SOIF are very excited to announce the winners of the Joseph Jaworski Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award.

We received a strong field of applications from over 40 different nationalities, from Azerbaijan to Zambia. A big thank you to all of you who applied as well as to our fantastic panel of judges.

The applications were so fantastic we have not only awarded a main winner but have a runner-up and 12 Special Awardees.

We would like to thank all of you who took the time to apply, we were honoured and inspired by the quality and diversity of your applications and proposals.

Find out more



Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award logo
Foresight is a systematic way of engaging with uncertainty, through the exploration of alternative futures, including aspirational ones. As a discipline it has the potential to shape the future.
A foresight practitioner is anyone who takes a futures approach to their work to explore and understand the impacts of longer-term factors and drivers of change on the future, to better understand how different futures might evolve, and to generate insights for decisions made today.



Who we want to support

The world is changing and as it does we need new sources of inspiration and innovation. Change will come from many arenas and peoples. It will come from a new generation, millennials, with new aspirations and values. But equally from new geographies, with a growing foresight practice in Africa and Asia. As well as second and third career practitioners entering the field from other domains, with fresh ideas and approaches from across civil society, business and creative industries.

The Joseph Jaworski Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award aims to identify these innovators and support them in their endeavours.

How we want to support

The Award will provide one winner with $25k funding to develop a new foresight initiative, and support Special Awardees to develop both personally and professionally. With our long term aim to create a global sensing-network of future-alert activists. It will provide a platform to showcase innovative practice from around the world.

Next-generation Foresight

What we are looking for

Examples of innovative Strategic Foresight practice we hope to hear about include:

Community Futures

Community Futures.
Next generation approaches to driving participation and empowering communities

Sustainable Futures

Sustainable Futures.
New approaches to sustainability and the Sustainable Development Goals.

Innovative Methods

Innovative Methods.
From digital to design thinking, from ethnography to performance.

Foresgiht with Impact

Foresight with Impact.
Changing the conversation and direction using futures and foresight.


Apply online

Launch:Soft launch 27 Nov 2018. Register interest and sign up for our first webinar.
Application:Applications open in December. Apply before 31 March 2019
Selection:Entries will be screened and assessed by an International judging panel
Award:Winners will be announced in April 2019

Eligibility Criteria

Qualifying individuals must:

  • Be between 18 and 35 years old at the time of entry or have fewer than ten years’ experience working in strategic foresight.
  • Be actively studying or working to develop innovative foresight practice.
  • Be commited to foresight with impact, purpose and with people at the heart of the future
  • Be actively studying or working to develop innovative foresight practice”
  • Become ambassadors within their own communities

wall grafitti

Applications open in December 2018


Main Award

The Winner will receive:

  • A years’ incubator funding worth USD 25,000
  • Free attendance at SOIF’s Summer foresight retreat (SOIF2018) 5-9 August 2019 – learn foresight with impact with an international group of policymakers, futurists and expert strategists
  • Quarterly mentoring sessions from SOIF and partners
  • Support to develop your project – as well as access to partnering and networking opportunities through SOIF’s network

Special Awards

A number of special awards will be made to recognise innovative practice (exciting news coming soon).

Geographic awards: One award to for each of Africa, Asia, Europe, N. America, S. America and Oceania

Sectoral awards. We are seeking support to offer awards to:

  • Innovators working in the field in communities and the humanitarian sector
  • Policy makers in local, national or international roles
  • Academics, students and educators
  • Entrepreneurs

Special Awardees will benefit from partnering and networking opportunities through SOIF’s network and will be invited to take part in a series of initiatives aimed at sharing best practice amongst futurists and foresight practitioners

All qualifying entrants will

  • Be invited to join a new global “Sensing Network”
  • Benefit from opportunities to showcase their work online and in print

Joseph Jaworski

Joseph Jaworski headshot

We have chosen to name the award in recognition of Joseph Jaworski, a seminal futurist and author of Synchronicity. Joseph has championed the need for foresight to be united with profound leadership in order to achieve social transformation. He inspires us across generations, being a vocal advocate for 50 years on the kind of service-leadership that is necessary for 21st century. As one of the architects of Theory U, he reminds us to put the heart and values at the centre of foresight activity.

Get In Touch

Community Futures

Interested in applying?

If you have any questions, want to check on eligibility or would like to ask any questions then we'd love to hear from you.

Interested in applying
Community Futures

Join the Sensing Network

If you'd like to get involved but you're not planning to apply then find out more about joining the Sensing Network that is being established as part of the award. The network will bring together a select group of next generation practitioners to sense and explore the future. More information to follow.

Community Futures

Interested in supporting

We're looking for collaborators and sponsors for the award. If you'd like to find out more get in touch to request more information or alternatively please send us your details here

Community Futures


If you would like to keep in touch and find out more about the awards and webinars then please join our mailing list