Joseph Jaworski
Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Award

Are you an innovator in foresight, working to shape or disrupt the future?

Established in 2018, this annual award aims to recognise emerging ‘waves’ of foresight work internationally, from civil society, government, business and creative industries. It is these new approaches to the future that will help us to create change by doing different things today.

It recognises your efforts to shape the future and improve lives. It also showcases stories of change in communities internationally. Change that may come from a new generation with new aspirations and values; from new geographies, with a growing foresight practice in Africa and Asia as well as other regions; and from second- or third-career practitioners entering the field from other domains, bringing fresh ideas and approaches.

What is the Main Award

The Main Award recognises one individual or team that our judges felt is at the forefront of innovation and shaping the future of their community or field. THe winner receives USD 15,000 to support their project. They will be invited to attend the SOIF Summer retreat at zero cost, and will receive quarterly mentoring and support from SOIF to help them to develop personally and professionally.

We also offered a set of Special Awards to innovators in each continent and across key sectors including policy-makers, academia, entrepreneurs, humanitarian and development, education, environment, cities and communities. Our special awardees will join the NGFP Fellows and receive partnering opportunities and support from SOIF and our judges. All the fellows will be brought together to join a face-to-face gathering later in the year. Over the past two years, this has been held at ESPAS in Brussels. We are also seeking funding to support our special awardees financially – more to follow.

Eligible applicants will be invited to join a global sensing-network of future-alert activists. Our long-term aim is to provide a platform to showcase and support innovative practice from around the world.

Who can enter

The Main Award is open to anyone aged between 18 and 35 or with less than 10 years’ experience as a foresight practitioner. Applications are welcome from anyone who considers themeselves a foresight practitioner – and is taking a futures approach to their work to explore and understand the impacts of longer-term factors and drivers of change, to better understand how different futures might evolve, and to generate insights for decisions made today.

They should be actively studying or working to develop innovative practice. You should be committed to putting people at the heart of the future, with a focus on impact and purpose.

The application process

Registration closed earlier this year. You can read more about the awardees and their work on this page
Main Award

  • Between 18 and 35 or with less than ten years' experience as a foresight practitioner on 31 May 2020
  • Winner receives both a USD 15,000 prize to support their project and attendance at the SOIF Summer Retreat
  • USD 5000 for each of the Asia and Africa Special Awards
  • All Special awardees invited to become fellows and receive mentoring and support from SOIF and judges.
  • Enter as a team or individual

Apply now

Learn about our previous awardees and their projects

Meet the fellows

Our Inspiration

We have chosen to name the Main Award in recognition of Joseph Jaworski, a seminal futurist and author of Synchronicity. Joseph has championed the need for foresight to be united with profound leadership in order to achieve social transformation. He inspires us across generations, being a vocal advocate for 50 years on the kind of service-leadership that is necessary for 21st century. As one of the architects of Theory U, he reminds us to put the heart and values at the centre of foresight activity.

Not sure if you're ready to apply?

We hope that you will, but we also appreciate it can be daunting and the awards won't be for everyone. So please do reach out if you just want to say hello or have any questions.

If you do, this is a chance for you to shine, to meet like-minded people and join a community of change makers. The sensing network is a supportive arena where you can bounce your ideas off people, get advice, be introduced to new colleagues and a new audience. This is a chance to have your work exposed to the leading minds in foresight.

Start an exciting adventure with us!

Get in touch with the NGFP team

Stay in touch

If you would like to keep in touch and find out more about the awards and webinars then please join our mailing list

Sign me up

Interested in applying or supporting the awards?

If you have any questions, want to check on eligibility or would like to ask any questions then we'd love to hear from you. Send us an email at