Our judging process


Our judges are a diverse and international group of foresight experts, activists, users, innovators and commissioners. They have been invited to join the judging panels due to their deep committment to the values of the Awards, and beacuse of their sense of adventure in supporting the next generation. You can read more about individual judges below.

We have a three-stage process for judging.

  • Step 1 – Sifting. All applications are sifted by a team from SOIF to ensure that they are complete, meet the basic criteria (word length, length of video) and to make sure that we have everything we need to assess the application.
  • Step 2 – Round 1 of judging. Next, all applications that pass the sift enter into a first round of judging. Each award is judged by a minimum of five judges. We ask judges to declare where they know applicants to ensure that there is no conflict of interest. Scores from the judges are normalised and the top applicants are taken through to Round 2 of judging.
  • Step 3 – Round 2 of judging. A second round of judging takes place where entries are judged by a new set of judges. Each application is judged by a minimum of seven judges. At this stage we may take up references for shortlisted applicants, and/or invite applicants to a short interview. The latter would only take place where the scores are incredibly close.
  • Optional Step 4. Where necessary, a final review panel may be convened for each of the Main Award categories, or for the Walkabout Prizes.

Winners and awardees will be notified when judging closes in July and prior to public announcement.

All applicants will receive feedback on their application. However, the level of feedback will depend on how far through the judging process the application progresses, and how much feedback is shared by individual judges.

Our judges

We're working hard to get our judging panel ready for this years' awards. Stay tuned for updates.

In the meantime, we would like to say a massive thank you to our fabulous and supportive panel of judges from 2019.

Aarathi Krishnan

Humanitarian Futures and Strategic Foresight Advisor

Ali Hersi

Saferworld’s Somalia/Somaliland Director

Amy Zalman

Professor, Culture, Communications & Technology Program, Georgetown University

Arndt Husar

Senior Public Management Specialist (Digital Transformation), Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Arthur Muliro

Deputy Managing Director, Society for International Development

Brian Chandler


Brooke Mitchell

Congressional Nuclear Security Fellow.

Chris Jackson

Founder + Director, We Create Futures

Dale Van Der Lingen

Policy and Strategy Analyst & Head: Strategic Foresight, Western Cape Government, South Africa

Danièle Rechard

Head of Global Trends Unit, European Parliamentary Research Service

Darcy Winslow

President / Co-Founder, Academy for Systems Change

David Snowden

Chief Scientific Officer, Cognitive Edge

Edward Walekhwa

Strategic Communications and Systems Thinking Specialist

Fatima Azevedo

Advisor, Office for Economic Policy and International Affairs, Ministry of Finance

Geci Karuri-Sabina

Director, Southern African Node of the Millennium Project

Gianluca Misuraca

Senior Scientist, Digital Government Transformation, European commission

Gina Lucarelli

Team Leader, Knowledge and Innovation at United Nations Development Programme

Guillermina Benavides Rincon

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) en The University of Texas at Arlington

Jan Bezuidenhout

Senior Manager at EY Advisory

Jim Maltby

Senior Strategic Analyst, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory

John Sweeney

Assistant Prof. Narxoz University, Director QRIFS

Jonathan Cherry

MPhil In Futures Studies (Cum Laude) from Stellenbosch University, an active member of the Association of Professional Futurists [APF]

Jose Manuel Roche

Researcher and consultant in International Development, Research Associate at the Oxford Department of International Development

Julie Jenson Bennett

Principle, SOIF

Kofi Kankam

Co-chair; Africa Regional Mechanism of Major Groups and other Stakeholders (ARMMGoS)

Laurie Smith

Principle Researcher, NESTA

Marius Oosthuizen

Programme Coordinator, The University of Pretoria’s Gordon Institute of Business Science

Mark McCartney

Leadership Coach

Mathew Burrows

Director, Foresight, Strategy and Risks Initiative, Atlantic Council, Washington DC

Miguel Jimenez

CEO and Founder, FFWD - Futures Intelligence & Strategic Foresight

Monica Mendez

Strategic thinker specialist in Mexican public sector

Moutaz Al Riyami

Executive Director in Petroleum Development Oman

Peter Glenday

Director of Research, SOIF

Pierre Schoonerad

Head of Research and Development, Centre for Public Service Innovation

Prabhat Ranjan

Vice Chancellor of D Y Patil International University, Pune, India

Prateeksha Singh

Head of Experimentation, UNDP Asia Pacific Regional Innovation Centre

Prof Sudarshan Ramaswamy

Dean, Jindal School of Government and Public Policy (JSGP), O.P. Jindal Global University

Puruesh Chaudhary

Founder and President AGAHI, Founder Foresight Lab

Ricardo Borges de Castro

Former Adviser on Strategic Foresight to the European Political Strategy Centre, European Commission

Richard Sanford

Professor of Heritage Evidence, Foresight and Policy at UCL’s Institute for Sustainable Heritage

Richard Walsh

Fellow at SAMI Consulting

Riel Miller

Head of Futures Literacy, UNESCO

Roger Spitz

Founder of Techistential, Foresight Strategy & Futures Intelligence, San Francisco

Sohail Inayatullah

Inaugural UNESCO Chair in Futures Studies. Tamkang University. Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Sultan Khair

Partner, Al-Bayan Investments Firm

Tanja Hichert

Research associate at University of Stellenbosch’s Centre for Complex System in Transition, fellow at the European School of Governance, director of the South African Node of the Millennium Project

Tom Burin

Security and Threat Intelligence Manager, Solvay

Torben Riise


Stay in touch

If you would like to keep in touch and find out more about the awards and webinars then please join our mailing list

Sign me up

Interested in applying or supporting the awards?

If you have any questions, want to check on eligibility or would like to ask any questions then we'd love to hear from you. Send us an email at team@nextgenforesight.org