NGFP Awards

Recognising the next generations’ endeavours in shaping the future.

The 2021 Awards

When we look at the world, we see new future-alert activists and emerging change-makers enabling their communities to imagine and create their own futures collectively. We see diverse voices democratising the futures field. The Next Generation Foresight Practitioners Awards seek to recognise and support these changemakers and their work.

This year there are three different opportunities to apply – the Main Award and associated Special Awards, two Walkabout Prizes and a new Under-18s Award (more news to follow).

Eligible applicants will be invited to join SOIF’s Sensing Network, one of the largest global networks of next-generation future-alert activists representing over 69 countries across six continents around the world. Our long-term ambition is to accelerate and amplify the work of the next generation of changemakers; to support leading thinkers using foresight as a critical tool for a better global future.

Main Award

The Joseph Jaworski Main Award is open to anyone between the ages of 18-35 or with less than five years' experience as a foresight practitioner. It will support one Winner and a cohort of Special Awardees to develop both personally and professionally. Enter as a team or individual.*

Apply now →

What can I win?

  • Winner receives a USD 10,000 prize to support their project and attendance at the SOIF Summer Retreat.
  • Special Awards for applications from specific geographies and sectors. All Special awardees are invited to become Fellows and receive mentoring and support from SOIF and judges. Fellows are invited to join an annual meeting in Brussels.
  • 7 funded Special Awards worth USD 2,500 each: Peacebuilding, People with disabilities, Indigenous Futures, Forced Labour and Human Trafficking, the MENA region, East Asia, and Small Island states.

Walkabout Prizes

The Walkabout Prizes were launched in 2020 and return in 2021 to showcase the work of 18-25-year-olds specifically. There are two prizes available for individuals or small teams* who are advocating for futures thinking and change in their community. The Prizes celebrate the curiosity and sense of exploration in younger futures practitioners.

Apply now →

What can I win?

  • Two winners will each receive a USD 2,500 prize to help translate new future-focused ideas into action in service to their community
  • Benefit from scanning training and mentoring support
  • Become an NGFP Fellow and receive mentoring and support from SOIF and judges. Fellows are invited to join an annual meeting in Brussels.
*One member of the team will be eligible to become an NGFP fellow although the whole team will be able to join the sensing network

What do we mean by foresight?

Foresight is a systematic way of engaging with uncertainty by exploring alternative futures, including aspirational ones. As a discipline, it has the potential to shape the future. It is not about predicting the future, but understanding your current and future operating environment. Insights gained from foresight equip communities and organisations to recognise and respond to emerging threats and opportunities by developing enhanced competitiveness, resilience and agility.

A foresight practitioner is anyone who takes a futures approach to their work to explore and understand the impacts of longer-term factors and drivers of change on the future, to understand better how different futures might evolve, and to generate insights for decisions made today.

Support the awards

If you're interested in supporting or sponsoring the awards then please get in touch. If you'd like to help us spread the word then please use the links below to nominate someone to apply, or share news about the awards with your networks.

Nominate someone for an award

To nominate someone, please complete this form. We'll reach out to them to ask if they'd like to apply.

Spread the word

To help spread the word you can use the following social media links, or get in touch for a copy of the media pack.

About the 2020 awards

We received over 200 applications from over 50 countries, from Argentina to Zimbabwe. The Joseph Jaworski Main Award was awarded to Raya Bidshahri, an Iranian living and working in the UAE, for her project to create alternative pathways for schooling and help people tackle and prepare for future challenges. We also awarded 17 Special Awards to outstanding applications from different sectors or geographies.

The Walkabout Prizes were won by Finn Strivens (UK), for his work using participatory methods to help young people and non-scientists to engage with science, and Namatai Kwekweza (Zimbabwe) for her work to drive youth-friendly constitutional and governance reforms in Zimbabwe and disrupt ageist normative frameworks.

Read about the 2020 winners

Supported by:

Stay in touch

If you would like to keep in touch and find out more about the awards and webinars then please join our mailing list

Sign me up

Interested in applying or supporting the awards?

If you have any questions, want to check on eligibility or would like to ask any questions then we'd love to hear from you. Send us an email at